Skip to content

Kathmandu to Pokhara

April 2, 2010

On Friday, PA Nepal’s Director Indira whisked us off to Pokhara to witness the progress of the prison there. We woke up at dawn and hopped in our awaiting minibus for the journey. This is what we saw…

a traffic director early morning Kathmandu | photo: Erica Køhn

beautiful bright buses | photo: Erica Køhn

early morning drills for the police | photo: Erica Køhn

watching the world | photo: Mark Vonesch

stacks from the brick kilns in the valley smog | photo: Mark Vonesch

waking up on the streets | photo: Erica Køhn

a family's commute | photo: Erica Køhn

a long walk | photo: Erica Køhn

big tree | photo: Erica Køhn

logging | photo: Erica Køhn

many hands make light work | photo: Erica Køhn

transplanting rice | photo: Erica Køhn

See You | photo: Erica Køhn

Valley Farms | photo: Erica Køhn

village festivities | photo: Erica Køhn

town fair | photo: Erica Køhn

It took four hours to cover 200kms, I am glad it is so fascinating to watch the world go by!

Thanks for looking.

:)
erica.

P.S. We would love to know what you think of the blog so far. Click on “Comment” at the top of the blog to leave us a note.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. catrina permalink
    April 2, 2010 4:26 pm

    this is such an amazing project guys ~
    I can’t wait to see the work that the youth do!!

    take care and keep up the brilliant work ;)

    Catrina

    • April 3, 2010 7:18 am

      thanks Catrina!

      I can’t wait to see what they do too. we will keep you posted. :) e.

      written on an iPhone. please excuse errors.

  2. Dave permalink
    April 3, 2010 2:04 pm

    Awesome photos guys! I’m especially a fan of the traffic director.

  3. Charlotte permalink
    April 6, 2010 3:18 am

    I like the traffic directors duds. and all the colours. and the promise of the project ahead.

  4. August 30, 2010 5:27 am

    I enjoy your photography. I am on my way to Nepal (less than 2 weeks from now) and I want to visit an American or westerner in a prison. I was hoping this blog would direct me to a possibility.
    My blog is
    http://theothersideofthecoconut.wordpress.com
    please visit it.
    Thank you.

    • August 31, 2010 4:25 am

      Dear ‘Forest Walker’,

      I am curious why you want to visit a westerner in prison in Nepal? I am sure there must be some, but I have mostly visited rural prisons, and have not encountered any there. I would look into the prisons in Kathmandu.

      If you are interested in supporting prison advocacy work in Nepal, that is a way that you may be able to accompany some folks I know on their visits to various prisons, that may include some westerners. Our friends are stretched very thinly in the awesome work that they do, so I would only put them in contact with them if you were interested in supporting their work.

      Either way, I am doubtful that you will be able to get a camera into the prisons.

      Good luck in your endeavours,

      kindly,
      erica

  5. August 31, 2010 9:45 pm

    Thanks for the reply…
    My interest is not so much advocacy, although I admire you and others who do that work.
    My interest is taking the time to bring a care package to a person who is lingering in prison without any friends or family in the country.
    The person I have in mind is some dumb western bloke who got caught with some personal use hashish, not a drug runner, just a dude looking for some fun. Now, he is stuck in a prison, his parents have “disowned” him, and he is not even sure who is President of the USA or how the Dodgers are doing this year. Know what I mean? If I can make an hour of his life brighter, give him some toiletries and some smokes, then call his parents to pass on a message I will feel good about it. I am not at all interested in violent or political prisoners.
    Keep up your good work.

Leave a Reply

